ArcGIS Blog

Your Guide to Named User Levels

ArcGIS 10.5 and the ArcGIS Online December Update have been released and as part of this we introduced a new tier of named user called Level 1 Named User.

Why a New Named User Level?

Many of you have asked for the ability to share private information more broadly with others in your organization. We realize that you create a lot of valuable information products—analysis results, dashboards, maps, and more—that others need to view and use in order to make decisions.

This new Level 1 Named User is in addition to the Level 2 Named User (formerly called Named User) and is a cost-effective way to share those important information products in your organization without giving up control over what information is seen by whom and how it is used. And all of this is accomplished using the same sharing workflows that you already have in place.

What Can This New Level 1 Named Users Do?

What Can This New Level 1 Named Users Not Do?

How Does This New Level 1 Named User Affect What I Have Today?

ArcGIS Enterprise users

ArcGIS Online users

ArcGIS Desktop users

ArcGIS App users

Please note that you can’t convert your current named users (Level 2) in your ArcGIS Online subscription or ArcGIS Enterprise instance to Level 1 Named Users until you’ve purchased and added Level 1 accounts to your ArcGIS Enterprise instance or ArcGIS Online subscription. Once you’ve purchased Level 1 Named Users, you can change Named User Level designations between members. ArcGIS Enterprise and ArcGIS Online administrators can still configure a Level 2 Named User and create custom roles and define privileges, just like they have been able to do.

See ArcGIS Enterprise Help or ArcGIS Online Help for more details.

If you have any questions about this, please contact your account manager.

Thanks,

The ArcGIS Team

Next Article

What’s New in Web AppBuilder (March 2019)

Read this article