ArcGIS Online

Recycle Bin - What you need to know

We are thrilled to introduce the highly anticipated recycle bin as a key feature of the June 2024 release. This long-awaited feature empowers you to recover accidentally deleted items, ensuring that no valuable data is lost. Moreover, administrators can now restore items for the entire organization, as well as individual members, further enhancing data management capabilities. This addition to our software exemplifies our commitment to providing an effortless and agile user experience. So, without further ado, let’s delve into the myriad functionalities that the recycle bin brings to the table.

What do you need to know?

Manage members Recycle bin content
Restore items from the organization's Recycle bin

What is not supported in the recycle bin?

The following items are not currently supported in the recycle bin and must be permanently deleted:

More details can be found in this documentation.

How do I recover an item?

To recover an item, simply go to your recycle bin, select the item, and click the Restore button. Items that are deleted and sent to the recycle bin will be permanently deleted after 14 days. Once in the recycle bin, item owners and administrators can restore up to 60 items at a time. When restoring items from the recycle bin, you can select the folder where restored items will be sent. Administrators can continue to manage their organization’s content, including the organization’s recycle bin. 

Restore items

Item relationships

Certain items have relationships to other items that may block restoration. If an item was created using another item, such as a view layer from a hosted feature layer, restoring the source item is required before restoring the dependent item. The new experience provides this item relationship information, and our support team is always available to assist with any questions.

API Changes

Changes to the existing APIs have been made to accommodate recycle bin. These include:

  1. returning recycle bin support and status in portal calls
  2. returning recycle bin items in item and content calls
  3. allowing delete calls to bypass the recycle bin via the permanent delete call

Additionally, new endpoints allow restoring items and checking whether an item can be recycled or restored.

It is important to note that the default behavior of delete APIs has changed so that supported items are recycled rather than permanently deleted. Previous behavior can be replicated by passing a permanentDelete call as detailed in the doc pages below.

Changes to existing endpoints

Portal
Portal Self
User Item
User Content
Portal Content
Related Items
Delete Item
Delete Folder
Delete Items

New endpoints

Restore
Can Recycle Item
Can Restore

What’s next?

This is just the beginning of an incredible journey for data management. Our team is hard at work to bring you exciting recycle bin updates in upcoming releases. We are thrilled to have you alongside us on this journey, and we look forward to your invaluable feedback as we expand and refine the recycle bin. Be sure to stay connected for the latest news and updates about the recycle bin!

 

 

 

About the authors

Laura is a native Kenyan, based in California who loves exploring culture and most-things art. With years of experience in the world of geospatial technology, she currently works as product engineer at Esri, collaborating across teams to help users manage their content in ArcGIS Online.

Johnny Chang

Johnny is a Product Engineer with the Online API team. Based in sunny California by way of Vancouver, Canada, he enjoys travelling and trying new things

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Next Article

Pop-ups: chart element essentials

Read this article