Skip to Content

Privacy and the accounts you create with Esri

Users create accounts in order to access ArcGIS Online. Accounts are also used to access training, My Esri, and GeoNet.

Account Types

ArcGIS Online Public Accounts (also called Esri accounts) are owned by you as an individual. When you create a Public Account, we will maintain a profile of the personal information you provide.  You may update this profile either on My Esri or on ArcGIS Online. 

Organizational Accounts are owned by your organization, and you may be invited to join an organization with your individual account. Your organization may enable "Esri Access,” allowing you to access other Esri services like training and My Esri.

Enterprise Accounts are owned by your organization and authenticated through your organization security technology. Your enterprise organization may enable "Esri Access,” allowing you to access other Esri services like training and My Esri.

Linking and deleting your accounts

You can link public and organizational Esri Accounts. Learn more here.

To erase your Esri Account, contact our customer service department. Full delete capability is coming soon. If you erase your account, your personal information will be removed, leaving only the username.  

If you join GeoNet, the Esri Community, we will create an account within GeoNet that will be linked to your Esri Account. If you erase your Esri Account, we will delete the background GeoNet account and anonymize your posts and @mentions.  

Questions or concerns regarding privacy issues?

Send an email to privacy@esri.com

Start my message