ArcGIS Online

Time-saving tips for managing members in ArcGIS Online

This article was originally published on January 21, 2021 and has been updated.

If you’re an administrator of your ArcGIS Online organization, member management is likely an important part of your work. To ensure you have enough time for everything on your to-do list, efficiency is key.

The organization page Members tab provides a central location for managing members. Whether you need to assign add-on app licenses, add members to groups, or perform any other member management task, ArcGIS Online includes time-saving capabilities such as filters and bulk actions to help you get the job done.

This article describes how to manage app licenses and groups for members with a specific user type; allocate more credits to members; and manage members in a specific member category, including reassigning content and deleting member accounts.

Video

For a demo of the capabilities covered in this blog article, check out the following video:

Manage app licenses and groups

Suppose you want to assign ArcGIS Navigator licenses to the mobile workers in your organization.

To get started, sign in as an administrator, click Organization at the top of the site, and click the Members tab to see a list of members in your organization.

Organization page Members tab

Now take advantage of the filters on the left to find the mobile workers. Under User type, select Mobile Worker to filter the list of members.

Filters pane with User type filter expanded and Mobile Worker selected

Assign licenses

With only the mobile workers listed, you can quickly assign ArcGIS Navigator to these members. Check the box at the top to select all the members and click Manage add-on licenses.

Filtered members list showing selected Mobile Worker members and Manage add-on licenses option indicated

Find and select ArcGIS Navigator, click Save, and you’re done.

Alt: Manage add-on licenses window with ArcGIS Navigator selected

All mobile workers in the organization now have a Navigator license.

Assign groups

Now let’s say you want to add these members to a group you created for managing mobile staff and data collected in the field.

With the mobile workers still selected, go to the More menu and click Manage group membership.

Filtered members list showing selected Mobile Worker members and Manage group membership option indicated

Search for the group, select it, and click Save.

Assign groups window with search keyword “field” and Yoho Field Collection group selected

The mobile workers are now members of the group.

In just a few clicks, you assigned Navigator licenses to mobile staff in your organization and you assigned the members to a field collection group. Now you can move on to managing credits.

Allocate more credits to members who need them

Credit management is a common task for many organization administrators, but it doesn’t have to be a time-consuming one.

As members of your organization complete their daily work in ArcGIS Online, the number of credits allocated to them may become low. Before you start receiving a slew of email requests for more credits, you can proactively update the credit allocation for members who are running low.

Again, the filters on the Members tab are your best friends. If necessary, start by clearing the existing filters and selection to return to the full list of members.

Now expand the Credits remaining filter. You want to find members who have fewer than 300 credits remaining so you can increase their allocation to 500 credits. Under Less than, type 300 and press Enter to filter the members list.

Credits remaining filter expanded with Less than 300 entered

Select all the members in the filtered list using the check box at the top and click Manage credits.

Filtered members list showing members with fewer than 300 credits selected and Manage credits option indicated

Increase the credit allocation and click Save.

Set credit allocation window with Set allocation option selected and 500 entered

Manage members in a specific member category

For organization administrators, a common task is deleting member accounts and managing the deleted members’ content, groups, and add-on licenses.

For example, suppose several interns will soon be leaving your company and their ArcGIS Online accounts must be deleted. During their internships, the interns created valuable content items that you want to maintain in the organization after the interns leave. The interns were also assigned add-on licenses that need to be revoked to make them available for other members.

Fortunately, ArcGIS Online allows you to manage member licenses and content in a single bulk action while deleting the members’ accounts. In addition, if your organization has set up member categories, you can use the member categories filter to quickly find the interns who are leaving the organization and then proceed with deleting their accounts.

First, filter the members list using the member categories filter. In this case, you want to find interns in the Conservation department.

Filters pane with Categories filter expanded and Conservation > Interns selected

Now select all the interns in the filtered list using the check box at the top, click the More menu, and click Delete members.

 

Interns list with members selected and Delete members option indicated in the More menu

You have the option of deleting the interns’ content or transferring the content to another owner.

Note: When deleting members in bulk, any groups owned by the members are automatically deleted; there is no option to transfer them to a new owner. To keep these groups in the organization, you must transfer them to a new owner before deleting the member accounts. You can see a list of group owners in the organization by clicking the Status tab on the organization page and clicking Groups in the status dashboard.

Transferring the interns’ content items to another owner will allow the organization to continue maintaining the content moving forward, so you’ll leave the first option selected and click Next.

Delete members window with option to Transfer content selected

Now specify a new owner and folders for the members’ content. You can create one folder corresponding to each intern who owns content or have all the content transferred to a single folder.

Delete members window with content owner and default folder option specified

Click Delete members.

In just a few clicks, you removed all of the interns from the organization and managed their content and licenses.

The content owned by the interns  is reassigned to the owner you specified. All add-on licenses assigned to the interns are automatically revoked and are now available to reassign to other members.

Learn more

To learn more about managing members and other organization administration tasks, see the following resources:

About the author

Jennifer Wrightsell-Hughes is a product writer on the ArcGIS Online team. She has a degree in Journalism and over 20 years of experience creating and editing content, including product documentation, tutorials, blog articles, guides, and videos.

Subscribe
Notify of
2 Comments
Oldest
Newest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Next Article

New! Probabilities in Forest-based and Boosted Classification in ArcGIS Pro 3.3

Read this article